Tags

, , ,


A month ago today, I started taking the whole idea of getting into shape more seriously with the “Getting Geared Up” post. So… I’ve strayed away from the plan a bit, with the idea of starting in baby steps: working out 3-4 times a week.   Sounds simple I know, but I have read that it can take three weeks to develop and maintain a new (healthy) habits.  Where I work I have access to a gym, which makes it easy to change into gym clothes and then zip off to the gym.

Here is my typical weekly fitness schedule:

  • Monday:  Elliptical machine 60 minutes, with weight training for about 15-20 minutes
  • Tuesday: Bike machine for 45-60 minutes, with weight training for 15-20 minutes
  • Wednesday: Treadmill 30 minutes, with alternating walking/jogging followed by stair stepping for 15-20 minutes
  • Thursday/Friday: One of the any above…

As a naturally competitive person, I have fun tracking my workouts and the number of calories burned.  There are tons of apps that allow you to do this, I use CardioTrainer (a free android app).  After each work out it shows the number of estimate calories burned with a fun badge.

As for nutrition, here is my typical food plan:

  • Breakfast: Fruit smoothie with non-fat milk, flax seed, strawberries, bananas and protein powder.
  • Lunch: Salad with tuna, avocado, hard boiled eggs with a side of hummus and whole wheat crackers.
  • Dinner really depends on what I have on hand… to be honest. 😉

So far, so good…and the proof is in the numbers. In the month since my wedding dress was ordered,   I decided to swing by the bridal shop Marcella‘s to be remeasured to make sure I was on the right track.  And guess what?  The hard work is paying off!  I have already lost 4 inches!

I am hoping in the next few weeks to add more core work outs, strength training and other new challenges.

By July 15th I hope to:

  • Be able to run/jog for five minutes straight.  (I am currently at 2:30)
  • Be able to get to 50 lbs on the weight machines.  (I am currently anywhere from 15-30)
  • Rock the stair climber…. right now, I look down right silly.
  • Pushups? Let’s shoot for 20 (real) pushups…

There you have it! Now go out there and kick some working out butt!